I’m going to level with you. This book is not like Jack Reacher, it’s not my normal type of book to read but it is a crime thriller book with lots and lots of suspense and mystery. You may ask “so why did you read this book” and to be honest, I was just searching through Amazon looking for a great thriller book with good reviews.

I have read all the Jack Reacher books and decided to order Jack Reacher books from the beginning of the series book 1 to go through them again.

This book had good reviews and the basic references from my top authors Lee Child and Greg Hurwitz made me think this could be a brilliant read.  So if you do like any of the Jack Reacher books then this could be for you.

What’s the plot?

Now this is what has got my attention, from the first page you realise a young woman is running away from someone, with her two children in an old car. We don’t know what she is running from but is really scared, she is also avoiding the police which makes you think that maybe she might not be the hero we think.

Back of book

Audra has finally left her abusive husband. She’s taken the family car and her young children, Sean and Louise, are buckled up in the back. This is their chance for a fresh start.

Audra keeps to the country roads to avoid attention. She’s looking for a safe place to stay for the night when she spots something in her rear-view mirror. A police car is following her and the lights are flickering. Blue and red.

As Audra pulls over she is intensely aware of how isolated they are. Her perfect escape is about to turn into a nightmare beyond her imagining. . .

Dark secrets and a heart-pounding race to reveal the truth lie at the heart of this page-turning thriller.

Full of dark secrets and heart-pounding twists, Here and Gone is the ultimate page-turner.

Is this anything like a Jack Reacher book?

As with all the Lee Child books, the writing style of Haylen Beck is very similar in defining the scenery, the short sentence tension but also the crafting of characters that make you either despise them or champion them. Like the Jack Reacher books, you have a craving to finish the book as soon as you pick it up, you really want to see what happens to Audra. There is also a character that gets introduced during the book who has a similar disposition to Jack Reacher, tough guy, ready for action and a real conviction to protect the innocent. I really liked this additional character as it then started to spill over into more of a book like the Lee Child novels which as you know I am a fan of.

Final Thoughts

I read this book within two days, it might not seem fast for some people but for me the time just seemed to whiz by, I can only put the comparison to a film I watched a while back. The film was only a 90 minutes long but keeps you with your hand in your mouth due to the tension that is built. The film is called “Breakdown” and stars Kurt Russell. This is also about a couple who have a car breakdown then when a helpful lorry driver comes along to help he takes the wife to the nearest town so they can call for help. Whilst Kurt Russell is waiting for help to come and his wife, time just floats on by, no help and no wife. He then works out how to fix his car (it’s just a dodgy wire) chases down the lorry driver who proceeds to tell him he doesn’t know who he is or his wife and has never met them in his life. Cue tension, killings, did I mention tension and lots of what has happened. You can buy the film here!

 

 

 

So this book is on the same wave length as this film – so if you like the film, like the sense of tension and the idea that you don’t know what is going to happen within a great plot, then buy this book now.

BUY HERE AND GONE NOW HERE!

If you like books like Jack Reacher then I would recommend this book which you can also see the rating on this page

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *