I have found that lots of people are asking, what order to read the Jack Reacher books? Now most avid Jack Reacher fans would suggest reading from Book 1 “Killingfloor” to book 22 “Midnight Line”. Most people who are not avid Jack Reacher fans would not know that there are other books in between this selection. These otherwise unknown books really do enhance your understanding of who Jack Reacher truly is.  For some of you who are not familiar with the Jack Reacher book series may be wondering who writes Jack Reacher novels.  Find out below who writes Jack Reacher novels.

Jack Reacher Book order

The order of the Jack Reacher books are as follows:

Killing Floor (1997)

Die Trying (1998)

Tripwire (1999)

The Visitor (2000)

Echo Burning (2001)

Without Fail (2002)

Persuader (2003)

The Enemy (2004) Prequel set eight years before Killing Floor

One Shot (2005)

The Hard Way (2006)

Bad Luck And Trouble (2007)

Nothing To Lose (2008)

Gone Tomorrow (2009)

61 Hours (2010)

Worth Dying For (2010)

The Affair (2011) Prequel set just before Killing Floor

A Wanted Man (2012)

Never Go Back (2013)

Personal (2014)

Make Me (2015)

Night School (2016) Prequel set in 1996 before The Affair.

The Midnight Line (2017)

Past Tense (2018)


Lee Child short stories

Fresh Blood 3 (1999) Lee’s story, “James Penney’s New Identity”, features a pre-Killing Floor Jack Reacher.

Like a Charm (2004) Serialized novel; Lee Child wrote Chapter Six: “The Snake Eater by the Numbers”.

The Cocaine Chronicles (2005) Lee’s story: “Ten Keys”.

Greatest Hits (2005) Lee’s story: “The Greatest Trick of All”.

Thriller (2006) Contains an edited version of “James Penney’s New Identity” originally published in Fresh Blood 3.

MWA Presents Death Do Us Part (2006) Lee Child’s story: “Safe Enough”.

Bloodlines: A Horse Racing Anthology (2006) Lee Child’s story: “The .50 Solution”.

The Best British Mysteries IV (2007) Lee Child’s story: “The Greatest Trick of All”.

The Chopin Manuscript (2007) Audio serialized novel; Lee Child wrote Chapter 15.

Killer Year: Stories to Die For (2008) Lee Child edited but did not contribute a story.

Guy Walks Into a Bar (June 7, 2009); prequel to Gone Tomorrow includes Jack Reacher.

Phoenix Noir (2009) Lee Child’s story: “Public Transportation”.

The Copper Bracelet (2009) Audio serialized novel; Lee Child wrote one chapter.

The Line Up (2010) Lee Child gives the inside story on Reacher and his origins.

What other books are from Lee Child like Jack Reacher?

Lee Child also published some short stories that give a back ground to Jack Reacher and also his many adventures from the past. I would seriously buy these short stories as they range from Reacher being younger and in his army days right through to when he left the army. They also give some clues into Reacher’s character and psyche’ why he thinks like he does and respond the way he does.



Competition for Jack Reacher?

It does seem that there are a lot of books out there with a one man hero going around unscathed and righting wrongs in the world. Now I know that you could look at it as since Lee Child has got famous from the Jack Reacher books, everyone has jumped on the band wagon and created similar characters. Well I did some research and after looking through some crime thriller books history, I have to conclude that again, NOTHING IS NEW UNDER THE SUN!

As you can see there are many Jack Reacher books to get stuck into.  I guarantee that you will not be bored once you start on the once one which you can buy here.


One of Lee Child’s influences for the Jack Reacher book series was an author called “John D MacDonald”. John D MacDonald wrote about a character called Travis McGee who has similarities to Jack Reacher in that if you are in trouble and lose something, Travis McGee can get it back for you for a fee!

There are 21 books in the series, and there’s only one of them where anything actually happens on page one. All the other 20, nothing ever happens on page one, nothing happens on page two… but by page three you cannot put it down. The thing that I found about these books that were published in the 60’s was that Travis is very much a hero no mess around type of guy. He looks the part – was in the US army, has few possessions and lives in a house boat. Thick wrists and long arms, 6ft 4″with superb reflexes just like someone else we know.

If you are interested in seeing another slightly older series but just as good as the current Lee Child Jack Reacher books, then look here to buy the first selection of them.  Don’t forget the latest Lee Child novel is available to pre order HERE.

Click the image below to buy the books!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *