I happened to chance upon buying this first Gregg Hurwitz book titled “Orphan X” in my local book store.  Lee Child, the author of the famous Jack Reacher books had left a review on the back page saying the book is outstanding in every way.

If you would like a recap on my initial reviews have a look here ORPHAN X review.

The new Orphan X is available to buy today, see below for other books in the series.  There are now lots of books like Jack Reacher and Lee Child novels.  More and more characters are entering the crime thriller genre with a one man hero, I’ve read a lot of them, some I must admit haven’t made it to my website as I only review good books.  The best characters like Jack Reacher can be found here, it just saves you the hassle of buying a poorly written crime thriller book that is supposed to be like Jack Reacher!

The new Gregg Hurwitz book

The lastest installment in the Orphan X series is titled “Out of the Dark”.  Now judging by my latest reviews, you know I’m a fan of this main character.  Evan Smoak, a hero who seems like the average guy but underneath the average veneer is a killer trained for action.  Evan is a bit like the old Equalizer figure Edward Woodward (remember that tv series) You can buy it here 

After Evan saves someone, he tells that person to give his phone number to another one who needs his special services. He’s a ghost, with justice always on his mind.  If you like Jack Reacher you will love the writing style of Gregg Hurwitz.  A bit like Lee Child in the way that he adds more and more to the main character, explaining why they think the way they do, some slight defects in their character that makes them the way they are.

Is the book any good?

The plot for the latest book goes for the jugular, the President of the United States .  The President has a secret to hide and Orphan X is linked to that secret.  All the Orphans in the Orphan X programme are being wiped out and now Evan decides its time to sort out the leader of this programme once and for all.

What is exciting about this book is the way that this is possibly the hardest task Evan has had to face.  How do you eliminate the most defended person in the planet who has the most power in the world.  Evan also has the small matter of the “Nowhere Man” phone which has someone ready to call when they need help.

I love the way we have our hero also trying to keep and portray a normal life outside of this mission.  Trying to keep in contact with friends in his apartment block and a romance with a neighbour from previous books.  This is where it get slightly different to the Jack Reacher books as Jack never really has much interaction with the same people, he is more of a drifter through society whereas Evan is in a fixed location, in a fortified apartment room with his own intelligence office.

What is good about this book?

Lee Child and Gregg Hurwitz are both great authors, Gregg’s character Evan Smoak really gets you sucked into the book on the first page.  The president is also desperate as he has to rely on another trained Orphan to wipe out Evan so that no one finds out his secret.  The fight scenes are again special, all the skills and gun fights on display for us all to see.  We have great link ups with Evan and a previous enemy Orphan from another book.  There is a really sensitivity with Evan and the person in distress who calls the Nowhere man phone number.  It really feels like this plot is going to be too much for our hero and without spoiling the plot we know he is going to need some help from elsewhere!  I like this idea, Jack Reacher is his own man, a force of nature who deals with things on his own terms, Evan is the same but even though he doesn’t trust anyone, he knows that at some point he is going to need help.

What about Gregg Hurwitz?

For me Lee Child is one of the best writers of crime thrillers along with Micheal Connelly and now Gregg Hurwitz.  The detail, the scene setting, the fight descriptions, the weaponary and the plot endings are superb.  I can’t recommend this series enough,  if you like Jack Reacher books, then you will love the Orphan X series.  I would always advise people to start with the first book Orphan X, this book will get you into who Orphan X is and why Evan wants to stay hidden.  My warning to everyone who starts is to be prepared for late nights, some “NO WAY” moments and maybe some sadness once the you have finished the series.

Also by Gregg Hurwitz – Orphan X series.

Here are the books both UK and US options, buy direct by clicking the picture and let me know what you think in the comments below.

8 Replies to “Orphan X – Books like Jack Reacher”

  1. I’ve never read but definitely heard of Jack Reacher, and have always heard great reviews involving those works. If Orphan X is anything like Jack Reacher, it’ll definitley be more than a success. I’ve always been one preferring to read a book series that is related to those I’ve read in the past, so if I open up the pages to either one of these series, I’m sure I’ll be reading both in due time.

    1. Hi thanks for the comments, its really encouraging that you will try reading the Orphan X series and that you have heard of Jack Reacher but may get into another series of books. Check back here for more in the future,

      Thanks

      Glenford R

  2. Dear Glenford.
    Thank you very much for your fantastic website. It is amazing that you show people where to start and what steps to make towards exciting reading. I hope more people will know about your website and follow your guidance.
    Kind regards,
    Andrey

    1. Thanks for the brilliant comments. I do hope people keep looking on my site for good books and hopefully it will point them to getting into the Jack Reacher series of novels.

      thanks again

      Glenford R

  3. I am a crime and thriller books fan but I didn’t know any of these books. They sound pretty interesting! Thank you so much for the suggestion! It seems I’ll have a lot of reading to do in the near future!

    1. Thanks for the comments – I’m glad that you could potentially be in for a new series of books. I think you will love this book series and also get into Jack Reacher books after this,

      thanks again

      Glenford R

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *