Wow, just started reading this new book from Stephen Leather and already I’m hooked….

This time no Spider Shepherd but long term ally Lex Harper. This book is so far gritty, engaging and the plot is amazing. A British Special Forces operative goes rogue! Queue lots of action, double crossing, twists and turns plus lots of fights.

Just like Lee Child books where you start one page at 11pm, look again at the clock and its 1am and you have read 5 chapters. You just want to know whats going to happen after every page turned.

Books like Jack Reacher recommend this book

Synopsis

When a British Special Forces soldier goes rogue, carrying out an attack at a US army base in Syria leading to the death of two men, ex-MI5 controller Charlotte Button is hired to work out what his plan is and to take him down before he can carry it out.

Charlotte puts her best man on the case – hitman Lex Harper. It’s up to Lex to assemble a crack team and get to the soldier before he carries out what could be a massive terrorist attack. But Charlotte might require Lex’s help with a more personal problem too . . .

As ex-MI5, Charlotte holds information on thousands of the agency’s dirty operations, and keeps a store of those secrets in three flash drives hidden in separate safety deposit vaults. Now someone is taking extraordinary measures to recover the secrets through Hatton Garden-style robberies. So far two vaults have been raided, and two flash drives have gone. If the third is stolen, Charlotte’s life will be in jeopardy. While it’s down to Lex to prevent a potential terrorist attack on British soil, Charlotte must work out who is after her and what they want.

Just to update, finished the book and wow, loved it.  Really different style to Spider Shepherd as Lex Harper hasn’t got the same moral character but he gets the  job done more efficiently.  Would definitely read this if you have finished the last Lee Child book and are waiting for the latest Jack Reacher book.

One Reply to “Stephen Leather – Takedown book review”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *